Vietnam 2014 – Day 6 Day Trip to Mỹ Sơn

I was picked up from my hotel by a mini bus and we headed west of the city for about an hour.

I had only seen things on the internet about Mỹ Sơn, but didn’t realize how spectacular it would be. It reminded me of photos I’d seen of Cambodia, where I want to go one day.

The big shame was that the American’s bombed the ancient buildings during the Vietnam war, as the Viet Cong used this area for their operations. Some areas still have unexploded ordinance. The heads of the statues are missing, as they were taken by the French and are now located in the Louvre in Paris.

Afterwards we took a boat ride on the river back to Hoi An.

I did some more wandering around the town before heading back to my hotel.

5 thoughts on “Vietnam 2014 – Day 6 Day Trip to Mỹ Sơn

  1. You got some great photos of the ruins! 🙂 You seemed to have a better time than I did at least! One of the things I did love about My Son was its close proximity to Hoi An and Danang. Good for a day trip.

    Like

    • Thanks for the feedback on the photos! Yes, I did enjoy my time there, which is why I was surprised you didn’t. My guide was good and funny though, so I’m sure that made such a difference. At some stage I’ll do a specific post just on the 100s of photos I took there!

      Like

Leave a Reply

