Day 1 Paris – Musée du Louvre – 1st Arrondissement (Part 2 of 4)

Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel

Leaving Jardin des Tuileries I came to the Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel in the middle of the path. It looks like the other Arc de Triomphe on the Champs Élysées, but smaller. I loved the stone carvings on the Arch.

IMG_0649

Place du Carousel

IMG_0651

Place du Carousel

IMG_0654

Place du Carousel

IMG_0650

Place du Carousel

IMG_0655

Place du Carousel

The Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel was built between 1806 and 1808. The arch is 19m high, 23m wide, and 7.3m deep.

Musée du Louvre

I then moved through and found myself in the courtyard for the Musée du Louvre with it’s glass pyramid. I went down into the museum and got myself something to eat. As expected, it was expensive and not very nice, but I was hungry and thirsty!

I spent quite a while wandering around the courtyard and figured I’d come back to the museum one day down the track to go inside and see the exhibitions.  I had been there as a child and had seen the Mona Lisa, and I was enjoying being outside, so I was in no hurry to stay inside, plus the sun came out!

IMG_0658

Pyramide du Louvre

IMG_0663

Pyramide du Louvre

IMG_0662

Pyramide du Louvre

IMG_0661

Pyramide du Louvre

IMG_0664

Musée du Louvre

IMG_0659

Musée du Louvre

IMG_0656

Pyramide du Louvre

IMG_0660

Pyramide du Louvre

IMG_0667

Musée du Louvre

IMG_0665

Musée du Louvre

IMG_0672

Musée du Louvre

IMG_0668

Musée du Louvre

IMG_0670

Musée du Louvre

IMG_0671

Musée du Louvre

IMG_0669

Musée du Louvre

The Louvre Palace began as a fortress by Philip II in the 12th century. The Louvre Palace was altered frequently throughout the years and since 10 August 1793 has been a museum (albeit with several closures throughout the years).

To see what else I did on Day 1, please check out this post

Pin this post

Musée du Louvre

One thought on “Day 1 Paris – Musée du Louvre – 1st Arrondissement (Part 2 of 4)

  1. Pingback: Paris Day 1 – Europe 2013 Holiday | Shona Travels The World

Leave a Reply

