Leura, Blue Mountains – Waterfalls and Lookouts

Yesterday I headed to Leura in the Blue Mountains.  I wanted to practice my long-exposure waterfall photography before heading to New Zealand at the end of August.

The weather in Sydney was sunny and warm, but it was chilly and wet n Leura!  I’m glad I decided to take my winter jacket with me.

Gordon Falls

My first stop was at Gordon Falls.  I’d never been there before, but saw the sign and thought I’d see what it was like.

Firstly, I took some photos from the car park, which were pretty incredible, much like all the views in the Blue Mountains!

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls Lookout

After about 10 mins walking down lots of steps (and knowing I’d have to walk back up them again!) I reached the lookout.

The view over Mt Solitary and Ruined Castle were great, but I’ll admit that I wasn’t too fussed with the waterfall itself.  Also, it was really windy so my camera just kept waving in the wind as it sat on the tripod.

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls

Gordon Falls Lookout

Mt Solitary

Gordon Falls Lookout

Mt Solitary

It started to really rain quite heavily, so I walked back up all the stairs and relaxed in my car. According to my GPS, there is about a 30m vertical distance between the car park and the lookout.

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls Lookout

All the stairs!! Plus there’s more….

Gordon Falls Lookout

Gordon Falls Lookout – a VERY old sign!

Leura Cascades

My next stop was Leura Cascades.  It rained most of the time I was here, but I was able to get a few good photos of the waterfalls.  Again, there were lots of stairs to climb, and I was really scared I was going to slip over in the mud and hurt myself, so I didn’t go all the way to the bottom. My GPS says it’s a rise of about 40m from where I turned around back to the car park.

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

Muddy ground

Leura Cascades

Stairs – these ones weren’t steep

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

More stairs

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

Leura Cascades

I finally got to Leura at about 3:15, found a fabric shop (and got lost in it for a while!!) and got to the Leura Gourmet Cafe & Deli a bit before 4pm.  I got a large bottle of water and some corn fritters – yummo!

The cafe also had a shop at the front where you could buy lots of goodies.

Map

Here’s a map of the spots I went to – The green is Leura, the yellow is the Gordon Falls Lookout, and the purple is the Leura Cascades.  Sydney is about 1 hour or more off the map to the right.

Screen Shot 2016-07-22 at 6.48.07 PM

I also did 34 flights of stairs!!  I only did 4,769 steps, and I reckon they were all going up and down flights of stairs!

IMG_7005

Pin this post

Leura, Blue Mountains, Australia - Waterfalls and Lookouts

Leave a Reply

