Day 15 Overnight train from Prague to Zürich and an afternoon in Mannheim – Europe 2013 Holiday

I left Prague on the overnight train to Basel, then changed trains and went to Zürich.

Prague to Zurich Map

When I got to Zürich station, the first thing I did was check out the tree that was covered in thousands of Swarovski crystals. It was quite impressive!

I then decided to wander around the town. It was about 9am and absolutely freezing. I found out later it was -3C / 26F that day. The more I wandered, the colder I got. I also couldn’t find anywhere warm to get breakfast, so after about an hour or so, I decided to head back to the station.

  • Aimless wandering
  • Church of Our Lady (Fraumunster) – with the green spire
  • Grossmunster

I got a Swiss train from Zürich to Basel, then a German train from Basel to Mannheim. Then I got the tram to the house.

  • Mehr Bahnhof (Station)
  • Zürich Hauptbahnhof (Central Station)
  • Views of Switzerland from the train
  • German train (Basel)

IMG_3206 (1)

Not long after I got ‘home’, my host father was going for a walk to the local shops, and I asked if it would be ok if I joined him. We went past my old school and saw a beautiful sunset on the way.

  • My old school
  • Beautiful sunset

One of my host-sisters came by the house to pick me up and we went into central Mannheim to the Weinachtsmarkt (Christmas Market) at the Wasserturm (Water tower – Mannheim’s claim to fame landmark!).

In total, I did 14,467 steps on my fitbit for the day.

Pin this post

Zürich & Mannheim

References – need more information?

Zürich

Zurich Hauptbahnhof (Train Station)

Mannheim

Mannheim Water Tower

Leave a Reply

