Heading to New Zealand – August 2016

Leaving Sydney

Getting to the airport

The first part of my journey was to get to the airport.  As I live in Western Sydney, and the trip to the airport can take at least an hour (depending on the time of day), and the fact that I had a super early flight, I decided to get to the airport the afternoon before I was due to fly out, and stay at a hotel at the airport.

I’m glad I did, as the trains weren’t running in the Blue Mountains, and there were buses replacing trains to Blacktown.  Luckily I had a friend drop me off at Penrith Station, where I hoped to catch an express bus to the city, however, it wasn’t running, so I just waited with the others that were stuck like me trying to get into the city.

Penrith to Airport Map

Penrith to Airport Map

Penrith to Airport Legend

Penrith to Airport Legend

Penrith Station - waiting for the bus

Penrith Station – waiting for the bus

On the bus between Penrith and Blacktown

On the bus from Penrith to Blacktown

Once I got to Blacktown I got off the bus and changed to a train. Unfortunately, this wasn’t an express train, so it took over an hour just to get to Central Station.

Work Train at Blacktown Station

Work Train at Blacktown Station

Work Train at Blacktown Station

Work Train at Blacktown Station

Signage - Blacktown Station

Signage – Blacktown Station

Blacktown Station

Blacktown Station

Blacktown Station

Blacktown Station

Once at Central, I change to the airport line and got the train to the International Terminal, where I walked about 5 mins to my hotel.

Central Station

Central Station

My hotel at the airport

My hotel at the airport

Initially I got the wrong room (I had booked a room with a view over the runways, but got a view over the car park), so I changed rooms (and got locked out in the process…) but it all worked out in the end.

My hotel room at the airport

My hotel room at the airport

Chilling in my room

Chilling in my room

Sunrise from my hotel room

Sunset from my hotel room

I had dinner at the hotel, then went to the terminal to Oliver Brown for dessert.

Drinks with dinner

Drinks with dinner

Dinner - pork belly

Dinner – pork belly

Then I hit the hay and slept quite well, considering I knew I had to be up early the next morning.

Waking and getting ready for my flight

I woke up before sunrise and set my iPhone up to take a timelapse of the sunrise.  Here it is – isn’t it great!?!

It was then time to head over to the terminal and drop off my bag and begin the wait until boarding.  Fortunately, I got to wait it out in the Amex lounge so I had my breakfast there.

Breakfast

Breakfast

Amex Lounge

Amex lounge

View whilst waiting in the Amex lounge for my flight

View whilst waiting in the Amex lounge for my flight

View whilst waiting in the Amex lounge for my flight

View whilst waiting in the Amex lounge for my flight

View whilst waiting in the Amex lounge for my flight

View whilst waiting in the Amex lounge for my flight

View whilst waiting in the Amex lounge for my flight

View whilst waiting in the Amex lounge for my flight

I had a great view of some planes coming and going, and I took some time-lapses for my nephew, who just loves planes!

I had booked a flight with Qantas and it was code-shared with Emirates, so I got to experience my first Emirates flight.

My Emirates flight from Sydney to Christchurch

My Emirates flight from Sydney to Christchurch

It was then time to board and I had chosen a window seat on the right-hand side of the plane, as I had remembered the views landing in Christchurch were out that side, and having flown out of Sydney many times, I always sit on the right-hand side, just in case we take off to the north, which this time we did!  This means I got to see views of Sydney as I left.

Bi-lingual signs on board my Emirates flight

Bi-lingual signs on board my Emirates flight

Leaving Sydney

Leaving Sydney

Leaving Sydney

Leaving Sydney

Leaving Sydney

Leaving Sydney – CBD Views

Leaving Sydney

Leaving Sydney – Opera House and Harbour Bridge Views

The flight was typically boring and uneventful, but I got my gluten-free meal.

I’m glad I chose the seat I did because the views over the mountains were spectacular as we were coming in to land in Christchurch.

NZ Southern Alps

NZ Southern Alps

NZ Southern Alps

NZ Southern Alps

NZ Southern Alps

NZ Southern Alps

NZ Southern Alps

NZ Southern Alps

NZ Southern Alps

NZ Southern Alps

NZ Southern Alps

NZ Southern Alps

NZ Southern Alps & Canterbury Plains

NZ Southern Alps & Canterbury Plains

NZ Southern Alps & Canterbury Plains

NZ Southern Alps & Canterbury Plains

NZ Southern Alps & Canterbury Plains

NZ Southern Alps & Canterbury Plains

Canterbury Plains

Canterbury Plains

We had a nice safe landing at Christchurch, and I easily spotted my bright orange suitcase.

Christchurch Airport

Christchurch Airport

Christchurch Airport

Christchurch Airport

Christchurch Airport

Christchurch Airport

Photos of landing in Christchurch in 2013

Here are the photos I took landing in Christchurch when I last visited in 2013.  This is why I chose the seat I did!

 

Pin this post

sydney-to-christchurch

Leave a Reply

