NZ 2016 – Day 1 – Christchurch – Part 1 – August 2016

Transfer from the Airport to the Ibis

On the afternoon I arrived, I was met at the airport by the transfer arranged by AATKings.  I also met another couple that was on the same tour as me.  The first thing I did was get a Vodafone card for my phone so I could access data.  I paid $49 for a package, but to be honest, I burnt through it quickly and didn’t top it up and just relied on the bus, hotel and other free wifi I found.

The bus driver took us on a magical mystery tour around Christchurch and showed us some things I had read about and decided to go back to.

Christchurch Transfer

Christchurch Transfer Legend

Christchurch Transfer Legend

Christchurch Transfer Legend

Once we were dropped at the hotel I had to get the guy from reception to break into my suitcase as the lock was stuck.  I then got my walking shoes out of the suitcase and hit the pavement!

Walking Christchurch

Avon River

I headed from the ibis on Hereford St down to the Avon River.

Avon River at Hereford St

Avon River at Hereford St

Avon River at Hereford St

Avon River at Hereford St

Avon River at Hereford St

Avon River at Hereford St

Construction

After crossing the river I came across some of the new construction sites (that were probably demolition sites the last time I was here).  There is a lot of construction being undertaken at the moment, and it was great to see, as the last time I was in Christchurch it was primarily a demolition site.

Hereford Street Construction Site

Hereford Street Construction Site

Hereford Street Construction Site

Hereford Street Construction Site

Arts Centre

Continuing along Hereford Street, I came to the Arts Centre.  This was badly damaged during the earthquakes and it currently being restored.

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Christchurch Arts Centre

Walking Map

This is the map of where I walked – This post covers points 1-4 and 6

Christchurch Day 1 Walk Map

Christchurch Day 1 Walk Map

Christchurch Day 1 Walk Legend

Christchurch Day 1 Walk Legend

Photos of these sites in 2013

Pin this Post

Christchurch - New Zealand

Christchurch – New Zealand

REFERENCES – NEED MORE INFORMATION?

Christchurch

Avon River

Arts Centre

 

 

One thought on “NZ 2016 – Day 1 – Christchurch – Part 1 – August 2016

  1. Pingback: NZ 2016 – Day 1 – Christchurch – Overview – August 2016 | Shona Travels the World

Leave a Reply

