China 2016 – Day 4 – Hong Kong – Sneak Peak – November 2016

Hong Kong

It was hot, humid and sunny.  I was sweating by 9am…. It got to 31C with a heat index of 34.4C.

Sheung Wan

My hotel was in Sheung Wan, in an area known as the dried seafood street.  Walking on my first morning to the station to get my octopus card I was bombarded by the smell of dried seafood.  Needless to say, I didn’t feel like breakfast!

001-dried-seafood-street-sheung-wan

Dried seafood lines the streets

002-des-voeux-road-central-sheung-wan

Cool double-decker trams that my nephew would love

Mong Kok

I took the star ferry across the harbour then got on a train to Prince Edward station.  I planned on visiting the Flower Market, but it was too early and they hadn’t opened.

003 Nathan Road, Mong Kok.jpg

Diamond Hill

I then caught the train to Diamond Hill to visit the Chi Lin Nunnery, and found the Nan Lian Garden as well.  I tried to stay in the shade as much as possible as I felt like I was melting.

004-nan-lian-garden-diamond-hill

Nan Liang Garden

005-chi-lin-nunnery-diamond-hill

Chi Lin Nunnery

I then hung out in an air-conditioned shopping mall for a while to cool down.  I decided to head back to the hotel for the main heat of the day for a nana-nap.

Temple Street Markets – Jordan

I had heard of these markets and just had to visit.  They really reminded me of any SE Asian market selling knock-off goods and street food.

006-jordan-road-jordan007-parkes-street-jordan

Map

day-4-hong-kong-mapday-4-hong-kong-legend

Fitbit

No wonder my feet were sore by the time I got to bed!

Fitbit.jpg

Pin this post

China 2016 – Day 4 – Hong Kong – Sneak Peak – November 2016

Leave a Reply

