China 2016 – Day 9 – Shenzhen & Guilin – Sneak Peak – November 2016

Shenzhen Dongmen

I went out in the morning to get some cash and had a bit of a tumble down a step I didn’t see.  The security guard at the bank just stared at me, and people walked past as I was lying on the ground in the mud!  I learnt my lesson that Chinese footpaths are just as hazardous as the ones in Vietnam, and that people don’t stop to help!

001 Shenzhen.jpg

Shenzhen, near the bank

I then got the metro from my hotel, changed trains and then headed to Shenzhen North station to get my train to Guilin.

002 Shenzhen Metro.jpg

G2904 High-Speed Train from Shenzhen to Guilin

I had decided that I would pay the extra and get a first class seat on the fast train.  It was quite nice but very full – every seat was taken.  I’m glad I wasn’t in cattle class!

003-g2904-high-speed-train-from-shenzhen-to-guilin

My train

004-g2904-high-speed-train-from-shenzhen-to-guilin

My first class ticket

005-g2904-high-speed-train-from-shenzhen-to-guilin

It went 305km/h and it didn’t feel like it

006-g2904-high-speed-train-from-shenzhen-to-guilin

View of the countryside

007-g2904-high-speed-train-from-shenzhen-to-guilin

My train at Guilin

Guilin

By this stage my knee, ankle and back were killing me from my fall that morning, so I decided to get a taxi to my hotel. When I opened the door to my room, I was blasted with the stench of stale cigarette smoke.  I was so exhausted and in pain, I just curled up on my rock-hard bed in the smell and had a nap.

I went downstairs to get some dinner, and the local markets were on, so I wandered around for a bit, had a beef and potato dish for dinner, then went back to my hotel.  The people in reception were nice enough but didn’t speak any English.  I did sign language that my room stank and it needed air freshener, so they sent someone up with the spray.  I slept like a baby (one that wakes every hour) with my pain killers, rock-hard bed, and stinky room.

008-guilin-at-night009-guilin-at-night010-guilin-at-night011-guilin-at-night012-guilin-at-night

Map

day-8-shezhen-to-guilin-mapday-8-shezhen-to-guilin-legend

Fitbit

Fitbit.jpeg

Pin this post

China 2016 – Day 9 – Shenzhen & Guilin – Sneak Peak – November 2016

Leave a Reply

