China 2016 – Day 21 – Beijing – Sneak Peak – December 2016

Beijing

I arrived early in the morning, having had not much sleep because of my back / ribs (I usually sleep like a log on trains!!), and got a taxi to my hotel.  Fortunately, my room was ready at 8:30am, so I had a shower and crashed out for a few hours.

Qianmen

When I got going, I got a card for the metro, and headed to Qianmen station, and wandered around the area.  It was pretty cool, and I had every intention of coming back but didn’t get around to it, so it’s on my list for my next Beijing visit!

When I got here it was daylight, but when I left it was dark.

Qianmen

Qianmen

Qianmen

Qianmen

Qianmen

Qianmen

Zhengyangmen

I then decided to walk through Tiananmen Square and came across this fantastic gate (men = gate)

Zhengyangmen

Tiananmen

I couldn’t walk through Tiananmen Square because it’s closed at night, so I got back onto the metro and went to the Tiananmen East Station, and made my way to the gate at the entrance to the Forbidden City / Palace Museum, Tiananmen (the Gate of Heavenly Peace).

Tiananmen

Tiananmen

Tiananmen Square

This is the square opposite the gate, and it quite famous, but it was closed and I couldn’t access it at night.  I did take a pano photo of it at night, though, before getting the metro back to my hotel.

Tiananmen Square

Map

beijing-mapbeijing-legend

Fitbit

Fitbit

Pin this post

China 2016 – Day 21 – Beijing – Sneak Peak – November 2016

Leave a Reply

