China 2016 – Day 22 – Beijing – Sneak Peak – December 2016

Beijing Historic Centre

One would have thought doing what I did on a Saturday would be quite insane, but because it was the ‘slack season’, there weren’t nearly as many people as I had expected there to be.

Tiananmen Square

I got the metro back to Qianmen station and headed north.  This time Tiananmen Square was open, and I got to go in.

My first stop was the Zhengyangmen (Front Gate), which I had seen lit up the previous night.

Zhengyangmen

I then made my way to the Chairman Mao Memorial Hall, where the body of Chairman Mao is interned.  I didn’t go inside though.

Chairman Mao Memorial Hall

I continued walking through Tiananmen Square to the northern end and saw the Tiananmen.

Tiananmen Square

Forbidden City (aka Palace Museum)

I thought that maybe I would go somewhere else if it was really busy, but it wasn’t, so I continued north into the Forbidden City.  I got an electronic audio guide in English, and it was pretty good, and probably spent about 2 hours wandering around, and probably only saw about 1/4 of the palace.

Forbidden City / Palace Museum

Forbidden City / Palace Museum

Forbidden City / Palace Museum

Forbidden City / Palace Museum

Jingshan Park

To the north of the Forbidden City is Jingshan Park, so I headed in there for a look around. I didn’t go to the top of the tower, as my ankle was quite sore from walking on the uneven ground inside the Forbidden City.

Jingshan Park

Jingshan Park

After leaving Jingshan Park, I headed west along a narrow roadway, Tu shan men jie, where there was some cool street food.

Tu Shan Men Jie

Beihai Park

I continued west and ended up at Beihai Park, which was really nice.  I stayed there until sunset and caught a taxi back to my hotel, as there was no metro stop nearby.

Beihai Park

Beihai Park

Beihai Park

Beihai Park

Beihai Park

Map

beijing-mapbeijing-legend

Fitbit

Fitbit

Pin This Post

China 2016 – Day 22 – Beijing – Sneak Peak – November 2016

Leave a Reply

