China 2016 – Day 1 – Sydney – Part 1 – 12 November 2016

Train to Central

One of my friends dropped me off at the local station, and I got on the train to Central. Once there, I transferred to Town Hall so I could walk downhill with my bags to my hotel at World Square.

Rydges World Square

As expected (it was about 10 am) my room wasn’t ready, so I left my bags with the concierge, and then walked to the Queen Victoria Building, to meet up with my family (parents, aunt, sister & nephew).  The bells were ringing at St Andrews Cathedral.

Replica Terracotta Warriors

Replica Terracotta Warriors

St Andrew's Cathedral

St Andrews Cathedral

Queen Victoria Building

There was a piper playing out the front of the building.

Queen Victoria Building

We all caught up and had some food (I had poached eggs on toast – my favourite). We headed to my parent’s / sister’s / aunt’s apartment, they got organised, and then we headed off to Darling Harbour.
Queen Victoria Building

Darling Harbour

We wandered through the southern end of Darling Harbour, and my nephew played on the equipment, went went on the carousel (thanks, Auntie D!) and had a great time. It’s a great park for kids!

Harbourside

We then made our way to Harbourside and we had Spanish for lunch – my sister and I shared some tapas (thanks again Auntie D!). My nephew, mum, my aunt and myself all went on the Ferris wheel and had a great view.
Harbourside - Darling Harbour
Harbourside - Darling Harbour
Harbourside - Darling Harbour
Harbourside - Darling Harbour

Maritime Museum

To the north of Harbourside is the Australian National Maritime Museum. We didn’t go in but had a look at the ships from the shore.
Australian National Maritime Museum
Australian National Maritime Museum
Australian National Maritime Museum

Welcome Wall

Right next to the museum is the Welcome Wall, where migrants can have their names engraved.
Welcome Wall

Map

day-1-mapDay 1 part-1 legend

Pin this post

1

Leave a Reply

