China 2016 – Day 5 – Hong Kong – Part 1 – 16 November 2016

Exploring Hong Kong

Sheung Wan

As I left my hotel this morning, I walked through the dried seafood streets again, past high-rise apartments, past narrow roads, past vegetable markets, and made my way to Man Mo Temple on Hollywood Road.

Sheung Wan Dried Seafood

Sheung Wan Dried Seafood

Sheung Wan

Sheung Wan

Sheung Wan

Sheung Wan

Markets - Sheung Wan

Markets – Sheung Wan

Sheung Wan

Sheung Wan- I love the scaffolding!

Sheung Wan

Sheung Wan

Upper Lascar Row - Cat Street

Upper Lascar Row – Cat Street

Man Mo Temple – Taoist Temple

I figured I’d go to this temple, as it wasn’t far from my hotel – about a 10-minute walk along some pretty cool streets.

The temple was much smaller than I thought, as was basically in two separate buildings, with a shared forecourt.

Man Mo Temple

Looking up to the ceilings I couldn’t work out what all the spiral things were until I realised they were incense and that’s why the room was so full of incense smoke and smells. I wondered how many hours these would burn for…. This was a pretty cool little temple, and I’m glad I came here.

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Hollywood Road

I continued along Hollywood road for a while, until I came to the mid-level escalators.

Hollywood Road

Hollywood Road

Eglin Street, Central

Eglin Street, Central

Hollywood Road

Hollywood Road

Mid Level Escalators

I headed down the escalators, as that was the direction they were moving when I got there. Otherwise, I would have gone up!

Mid Level Escalators

Mid Level Escalators

Mid Level Escalators

Mid Level Escalators

Mid Level Escalators

Mid Level Escalators

Mid Level Escalators

Mid Level Escalators

Mid Level Escalators

Mid Level Escalators

St John’s Cathedral

I found myself in Central, and saw a sign to the Peak Tram, and made my way in that direction, stopping at St John’s Cathedral. I must admit, I was a little disappointed – I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to come back here again.

Former Legislative Council Building, Central

Former Legislative Council Building, Central

Des Voeux Road, Central

Des Voeux Road, Central

Queens Road, Central

Queens Road, Central

Queens Road, Central

Queens Road, Central

Garden Road, Central

Garden Road, Central

St John's Cathedral

St John’s Cathedral

St John's Cathedral

St John’s Cathedral

St John's Cathedral

St John’s Cathedral

St John's Cathedral

St John’s Cathedral

Pin this post

Sheung Wan & Central, Hong Kong.png

2 thoughts on “China 2016 – Day 5 – Hong Kong – Part 1 – 16 November 2016

Leave a Reply

